Book Of Traceable Heraldic Art

Preface | The Editor | Terms of Use | Contribute Your Art | Project Blog | Build Code | JSON Data

Editor’s Acknowledgements

Assembling and refining this collection has been an ever-growing project over the last three years.

Thank you to each of the artists who contributed illustrations to this effort, and to those who posted their creations online under licenses that allowed them to be collected here. Their names are catalogued in the Sources section, and this collection would not exist without them.

I am very grateful to the Pennsic Traceable Art project, led by Ailis Linne, which provided the inspiration for this collection, and was initially the primary source of material. A special thanks to Þórý Veðardóttir for recruiting me to work on updating that resource, and for providing feedback during the first year.

Many thanks to the heralds of the SCA for the years of research and the reference material which informed this work. Notable among these is Bruce Draconarius of Mistholme, creator of the Pictorial Dictionary of Heraldry, aka the “PicDic,” a truly invaluable resource.

Particular thanks for the helpful feedback received from Beatrice Domenici della Campana, Kryss Kostarev, Muirenn ingen Dúnadaig, Tanczos Istvan, Thóra Róarsdóttir, Yehuda ben Moshe, and the members of the SCA Heraldry Unofficial Chat group on Facebook.

My sincere appreciation to folks who have contacted me with corrections, including Basil Dragonstrike, Konrad Mailander, Michael Gerard Curtememoire, Amy Hanson, Alexandre Saint Pierre, and Cormac Mór.

— Mathghamhain Ua Ruadháin

Editor, Book of Traceable Heraldic Art
mka Matthew Simon Ryan Cavalletto
New York City, Spring 2020

Contributing Artists

My thanks to the many talented artists who have contributed their original illustrations or adapted images from historical documents for inclusion in this collection.

Aine ingen Gilla Crist, Ajir Tsagaan, Albrecht Drurer, Alessandra Sartor, Alexandre Saint Pierre, Aliyah bat Azriel, Amy Eliot, Aurora Faw, Bahja al-Azraq, Bróccín MacIvyr, Choi Min, Daya Speyerin, Di Amador, Elionora inghean Ui Cheallaigh, Elizabeth Turner de Carlisle, Elspeth Farre, Estelle de la Mer, Forveleth Dunde, Frans Franken the Younger, Gian Antonio da Tradate, Gunnvôr silfrahárr, Gwenyvere Rose Foxe, Helena De Argentoune, Hu Zhen, Iago ab Adam, Jessimond of Emerickeskepe, Jon Chesey, Kitta Refr, Kolosvari Arpadne Julia, Kryss Kostarev, Li Xia, Lily Morgaine, Malyss Makneile, Maryan Hoskyns, Mathghamhain Ua Ruadháin, Muirenn ingen Dunadaig, Myfanwy ferch Rhiannon, Nest verch Gwilim, Niccolo da Palermo, Owen Tegg, Poznaniak, Ræv Kolfinnsson, Ragna stórráða Úlfsdóttir, Rhian C. Preston, Roana d’Evreux, Sadhbh Bheag, Saewynn aet Cnolle, Stephanie Fahey, Séamus Uí Chonchobhair, Tancorix inigena Bivaidonas, Thomas Eynsham, Thomas Ouswood, Thora Brandsdottir, Þórý Veðardóttir, Torric inn Björn, Ursula Messerschmitt, Volusia Zoe, Vémundr Syvursson, Wylet Fraser, and Zubeydah al-Badawiyyah.

This project would have been dramatically smaller and less useful without your efforts and I am in your debt.

— Mathghamhain Ua Ruadháin Autumn 2023